What To Do After A Hit And Run Accident

Car accidents | July 1, 2020

What To Do After A Hit And Run Accident in Illinois

Hit and run accidents can lead to devastating injuries for victims. Unfortunately, the aftermath of these accidents can become complicated, particularly when it comes to securing compensation. Here, we want to discuss various elements of a hit and run case, including how long you have to report these incidents, how insurance will handle then run, and how often these incidents occur. If you have been a victim of a hit and run accident, speak to our local Chicago car accident attorneys today for a free consultation.

How Long Do You Have to Report a Hit and Run in Illinois?

The best practices after any car accident, including a hit and run accident, or to check on all drivers and passengers who have remained at the scene. Make sure to call the police and request medical assistance if necessary. Under no circumstances should you attempt to chase a driver who flees the scene of an accident. Any accident in Illinois that involves an injury or fatality must be reported immediately. If an accident involves property damage of more than $1,500, then it must be reported to the Illinois Department of Transportation no later than ten days after the incident occurred.

You should do what you can to take photographs or video evidence of the entire crash scene. This includes any damages or debris lying around as well as any possible causes of the crash and injuries involved. Exchange information with others at the scene, including other drivers and passengers, as well as eyewitnesses to the crash.

Does a Hit and Run Count Against Your insurance?

When you make an auto insurance claim after another driver has caused damage to your vehicle or injuries to your person, this should not have an impact on your insurance premium so long as you have properly reported the incident to the police and your insurance carrier within their deadlines. This will generally be considered a “not-at-fault” loss.

In Illinois, drivers must have the following insurance minimums to remain legal on the roadway:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability coverage: $15,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage: $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident

You will notice that part of this coverage includes uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage that should help pay medical bills after being struck by a hit and run driver. It is also strongly recommended that drivers obtain uninsured motorist coverage to help with property damage as well as underinsured motorist coverage if they are struck by a driver with minimum insurance coverage.

How Common are Hit and Run Accidents in Illinois?

According to the Illinois Department of Transportation, there were more than 319,000 total vehicle crashes during the latest reporting year. Out of these incidents, there were more than 94,000 injuries and 1,035 total fatalities. However, the Illinois DOT does not release statistics specifically related to hit and run incidents, but we know that these accidents are not uncommon.

Hit and run Are considered a criminal offense in Illinois. Specifically, failing to return to an accident scene could result in a person facing up to three years in prison as well as a fine of $25,000. For hit and run accidents that caused bodily injury or death, the consequences are much more severe. This can include up to five years in prison.

Along with these sentences, a person found guilty of hit and run can expect their driver’s license to be suspended or revoked.

Contact Information